web hosting

ps-domain domain

.ps domain

register cheaply in the webhosting price comparison

from 109.00€ per year including 19% VAT

Meaning and history

The domain extension .ps is the country-specific top-level domain of the internationally still controversial state of Palestine, which comprises the West Bank and Gaza Strip occupied by Israel since 1967 and the East of Jerusalem as its capital. Not all states in the world have yet recognized Palestine as a state. Many Palestinians are satisfied that this state, which is still very controversial under international law, has its own domain ending for domains and thus a country code for access to the WWW. It took three years after the inquiry at IANA in 1997 until the allocation of a country-specific top-level domain for the Palestinian autonomous territories was possible. Initially, IANA rejected the request because at that time Palestine was not assigned a country code in ISO 3166. The state received this country code on 1 October 1999, after which Palestine applied again for the allocation of a top-level domain, which was also granted by IANA.

Allocation guidelines of the domain extension

The .ps domain extension was launched on 22 March 2000 and is administered by the Ministry of Telecommunications and Information Technology. The Palestinian National Internet Naming Authority has taken over the operative business. There are no special restrictions on the assignment of a domain address ending in .ps. This means that any natural and legal person can register a domain to the country-specific top-level domain of Palestine. A residence or a company headquarters or branch office in Palestine is not necessary. Despite the very liberal registration policies, the cost of registering a domain name ending in .ps is quite high.

Use and meaning

Since the conflict in the Israeli-occupied West Bank and Gaza Strip and the East of Jerusalem as the capital is far from over, and since there have been repeated attacks from the Israeli side in recent years, the infrastructure in the Palestinian territories is as good as unused. There are hardly any users of the domain extension .ps with an own website who live directly in Palestine. Many Palestinians have fled their homeland over the last decades and live scattered all over the world. Many of them set up a website with the ending .ps because of their attachment to their homeland.

Special features of the domain extension

Features

Registration period of the domain

The registration of a .ps domain usually takes several hours

Minimum and maximum length

4 - 63 characters

Transfer to the Premium Provider

Change of ownership (registrant)

Provider change possible

Whois update possible

Whois Privacy Protection

Name Server Update

Domain Expire (end of term)

Deletion immediately

Umlauts possible

Restore after deletion possible

A reactivation is possible within the first 30 days after deletion (99 € incl. 19 % VAT)

Forms and conditions

Please divide the contribution
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on telegram
Latest posts
The allocation conditions for .ps domains can be found in our overview.

Europe

webhosting

ps-domain Domain

.ps-Domain

günstig registrieren im Webhosting-Preisvergleich

ab 109.00€ pro Jahr inkl. 19% USt.

Bedeutung und Geschichte

Die Domainendung .ps ist die länderspezifische Top-Level-Domain des völkerrechtlich noch immer umstrittenen Staates Palästina, das das seit 1967 von Israel besetzte Westjordanland und den Gazastreifen sowie den Osten von Jerusalem als Hauptstadt umfasst. Noch nicht alle Staaten der Welt haben Palästina als Staat anerkannt. Dass dieser völkerrechtlich immer noch sehr umstrittene Staat, über eine eigenen Domainendung für Domains und damit einen Ländercode für den Zugang ins WWW besitzt, empfinden viele Palästinenser als Genugtuung. Es dauerte dabei drei Jahre nach der Anfrage bei der IANA im Jahr 1997 bis die Zuteilung einer länderspezifischen Top-Level-Domain für die palästinensischen Autonomiegebiete möglich war. Zunächst erteilte die IANA der Anfrage eine Absage, da damals in der ISO 3166 Palästina keinem Ländercode zugeordnet war. Diesen Ländercode erhielt der Staat am 1. Oktober 1999. Danach bewarb sich Palästina erneut um die Zuteilung einer Top-Level-Domain, die von der IANA auch bewilligt wurde.

Vergaberichtlinien der Domainendung

Lanciert wurde die Domainendung .ps am 22. März 2000. Verwaltung wird sie vom Ministerium für Telekommunikation und Informationstechnologie. Den operativen Betrieb hat die Palestinian National Internet Naming Authority übernommen. Bei der Vergabe einer Domainadresse mit der Endung .ps bestehen keine besonderen Beschränkungen. Das heißt, jede natürliche und jede juristische Person kann eine Domain auf die länderspezifische Top-Level-Domain von Palästina registrieren. Ein Wohnsitz bzw. ein Firmensitz oder eine Niederlassung in Palästina sind nicht nötig. Trotz der sehr liberalen Vergaberichtlinien bewegen sich die Kosten für die Registrierung von einem Domainnamen mit der Endung .ps auf einem recht hohen Niveau.

Nutzung und Bedeutung

Da der Konflikt im von Israel besetzte Westjordanland und den Gazastreifen sowie den Osten von Jerusalem als Hauptstadt noch längst nicht als beendet betrachtet werden kann und es in den letzten Jahren immer wieder Angriffe von israelischer Seite gegeben hat, liegt die Infrastruktur auf den palästinensischen Gebieten so gut wie brach. Es gibt kaum Nutzer der Domainendung .ps mit einer eigenen Webseite, die direkt in Palästina leben. Viele Palästinenser sind im Laufe der letzten Jahrzehnte aus ihrer Heimat geflohen und leben in der ganzen Welt verstreut. Viele von ihnen richten aus Verbundenheit mit ihrer Heimat eine Webseite mit der Endung .ps ein.

Besonderheiten der Domainendung

Eigenschaften

Registrierungsdauer der Domain

Die Registrierung einer .ps-Domain dauert meist einige Stunden

Mindest- und Maximallänge

4 – 63 Zeichen

Transfer zum Premium Provider

Inhaberwechsel (Registrant)

Providerwechsel möglich

Whois-Update möglich

Whois Privacy Schutz

Nameserver Update

Domain Expire (Laufzeitende)

Löschung sofort

Umlaute möglich

Restore nach Löschung möglich

Eine Reaktivierung ist innerhalb der ersten 30 Tage nach Löschung möglich (99 € inkl. 19 % USt.)

Formulare und Bedingungen

Teile bitte den Beitrag
Aktie auf facebook
Aktie auf twitter
Aktie auf linkedin
Aktie auf pinterest
Aktie auf whatsapp
Aktie auf telegram
Letzte Beiträge
Die Vergabebedingungen für .ps-Domains gibt es in unserer Übersicht.

Europa